Reviving my memes from 2020

Dear Grocery Girl

When Covid-19 was raw

Samantha Lazar
2 min readAug 14, 2022

--

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Dear Grocery Girl,

Just to be clear, I am stalking you. I’ve had my eye on you since you grabbed the last mini-cart in the parking lot.

Your mask dangles over your ear like some forgotten bra on the clothesline, left out in the rain. You have lipstick on. Lipstick! Who has worn lipstick since February? That shade of pink gives you away and I watch, pushing my cart two cart lengths behind, as you stop before the sliding doors to hang the other mask strap over your ear.

You make it through the gatekeeper, you know the lady at the door who has the worst shift: checking for masks on entry.

Then you do the unspeakable. Like some entitled seventh-grader sticking her gum under a desk, you shove that mask in your Kate Spade.

First of all, you clearly are not there to shop for your family. Your lipstick and speed-shopping show me you are on a mission, and no one is going to get in your way.

Second of all, I see you not once, but two times, scratching your nose.

What is so hard to understand about the importance of wearing a mask in public?

--

--