Putting the Hot in ‘Hot Mess’

Samantha Lazar
2 min readJan 20, 2021
Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

I have some housemates. They are my wonderful husband of almost 11 years, a nine-year-old son, my one-year-old rascal of a Labrador retriever (destroyer of all things), and a fluffy 6-year-old grey and white tuxedo cat. Am I difficult to live with? I am pretty easygoing, but I know I have some habits that would be sort of annoying…I am going to try to view myself objectively, which I find tricky. Time to be honest.

I am turning this into a “Newlyweds” game. Hubs and I know each other pretty well. My sister played this game at my bridal shower. She asked me a series of questions and then played a video of my then fiancé answering the same questions. He got almost all of them right! Even the obscure: what dorm did Sam live in freshman year of college? I didn’t even know I had told him that fact, but to be fair, my husband should have been on Jeopardy, sigh.

Anyway, I know he won’t let me videotape the answers to this question, so dear reader, you are just going to have to trust me.

So here is what I think he would say:

  1. I am kind of a mess. I’ve had a lot of projects going on at once almost my whole life. I have planners and lists and books and art supplies and papers to grade all over the place and a basket of laundry to be put away at all times.
  2. I often tend to linger on things (thoughts…

--

--